Law Question: Fending to the face

7 A ball carrier may hand off an opponent. Can 10.4 (e) apply?

Question:

The attacking ball carrier is allowed to fend with an open hand to the chest or face. Is it possible to give a guideline to when a fend becomes dangerous and how a referee can identify and judge that action? We’ve had several teams coached to fend to the face and the concern is the fends are becoming dangerous, bordering on punching to the face. We are so careful with any physical contact above the neck, and yet it seems a hand to the defending face is ok? There are many areas cautioning defending players not to go near the neck or head, but nothing directed at the attacking ball carrier. 2011 Law Book page 55. http://www.scrrs.net/irb-rulings/irb-ruling-the-hand-off-or-fending/ Read More →

Recent SCRRS articles ↓

Law Question: Offside for scrum halves at the scrum

Posted by SCRRS Website Committee on May 19th, 2012

20.12 (e) Offside for scrum halves.

Question:

If the defending scrum half does not follow the ball after it has been put into the scrum, is the scrum half allowed to move laterally across the field in a line behind the hindmost foot of the defending end of the scrum (his own #8’s feet)? Which means the scrum half does not have to be 5 meters back with the non scrum participating players? 2011 Law Book page 145. Also referred to in the USA Game Management page 7 – scrum D.3. Read More →

Video Example – Scrum after a maul when catcher is held

Posted by SCRRS Website Committee on May 17th, 2012

Here is a video example of a scrum after a maul when the catcher is held. The television commentators congratulate themselves for getting a law correct. Well done boys. The referee is South African Jaco Peyper.

Read More →

Law Question: Lineout receivers position

Posted by SCRRS Website Committee on May 17th, 2012

19.8 (i) Where the receiver must stand.

Question:

Must there be a receiver at every lineout? If the receiver joins the lineout before the ball has been thrown, does another member of the lineout have to drop out into a receiver position. This is before the ball has been thrown into the lineout – no one can join the lineout after the ball has started moving. Can there be a lineout with no receiver? And obviously, there cannot be two players in the scrum half position – we see this a lot! 2011 Law Book page 125. USA Game Management page 8 – lineout A.2. Also from USA Rugby http://www.scrrs.net/resources/usa-rugby-clarification-regarding-the-scrumhalf-at-lineout/ Read More →

Video Example – Dead Ball Line

Posted by SCRRS Website Committee on May 11th, 2012

A video example of a TMO (Television Match Official) review of a possible try scored near the dead ball line. Did the ball touch the line? What is the ruling?

Read More →